In need of color,

in my life and on my plate;)

I am preparing for a Polaroid photography trip to Marrakech. This morning I had to get a dress that I had to get changed and opened on the sides since I bought it over ten years ago and haven’t been able to squeeze in for the last six years, which I think is totally normal;) The dress is now a stunning “tunique”. That was the productive part of the morning because I also tried to get my plane tickets which didn’t work out yet. Traveling from Luxemburg in winter is so much more complicated then in summer. From here to the food. At this point I craved a piece of cheese cake BUT went home, cooked this lovely colorful salad. Craving gone & mood as it should be;)

ImageYes this bowl is the exact same one they had on “the Cosby Show”, there are only a few left split between my brother and I, the rest didn’t survive the 90es I guess.

For the salad (for 2 people):

1,5 cups of quinoa

1 fresh broccoli

seeds of 1/2 pomegranate

For the dressing:

1/2 hand full of pine nuts

lemon zest

2 tablespoons of lemon juice

4 tablespoons of olive oil

1 teaspoon of agave syrup

pepper & salt & a pinch “piment d’espelette” (optional)

I shortly cooked the broccoli and rinced it in cold water straight after cooking to preserve the vivid green color.

I deseeded the pomegranate by cutting it in half. Placing one half in my hand the “open” side in my palm & beating it with a wooden spoon. That makes the grains fall into your palm nicely without creating a mess in the kitchen & you’re really calm afterwards;)

I cooked the quinoa. How to…is best explained by this video from my new roots! Whose recipes I just LOVE!!

Image

The pine nuts are roasted in a dry pan on medium heat until slightly brown. Don’t walk away from them, once they start taking color they quickly get too much of it.

Mix the ingredients for the salad together.

Mix the ingredients for the dressing.

Image

Mix those together &

Image

Fresh goat cheese works nicely with this salad.

Eat well

Leave a Reply

