Banana bread

DSC_0253

& not at all what I planned to write here this week. I had made a dairy free chocolate spread…but this is the one for now. Luxemburg is covered in snow AGAIN and I might just be in desperate need for comfort food. I also spend the week before last in Morocco where we were treated to banana bread in the morning alongside fresh orange juice, homemade bread, lovely local honey and coffee with cinnamon in it.

I do have the travel virus and am thinking about a summer trip through the US or Canada. If you have any tips please let me know;)

Back to the kitchen. The bananas are already sweet , I don’t add any sugar to the batter & I add cashew nuts for texture, crunch and all the good stuff they do for our little bodies.

50g coconut oil

4 ripe bananas

1 egg

1 teaspoon of vanilla (I used the pod, I’m not a fan extract or just haven’t come across a really good one)

1 teaspoon of baking powder

1 pinch of salt

170g wholegrain flour of your choice

1 handful of roughly crushed cashew nuts

I mixed all the ingredients in the kitchen robot adding the bananas in big pieces, since the robot mixed them so well. If you don’t use a kitchen robot, you will have to mash them before adding them to the batter.

DSC_0240

DSC_0243

Pour into your buttered & floured baking dish and bake at 180° for 1/2 hour or longer depending on your oven. Look, smell & use a cake tester;)

DSC_0249

DSC_0250

Eat well

Leave a Reply

