Breaking the fast…

Image

…I had big plans for this post. I had in mind to prepare the perfectly balanced (5 phases of food) treat & shoot it with my new camera. The camera came from Seattle and found little Luxemburg quickly. The camera food is coming from Germany and still hasn’t made it;)

So we end up with 2 for 1. This one! & ’20 little fingers’ shot with my Nikon & iPhone.

First breakfast, breaking the fast after a good nights sleep and ideally having been ‘fasting’ for 12 hours. I hear those late night snackers going …ups;)

Image

I try to have a different breakfast every day…easier on the weekends. During the week I do prepare in the evening, since I know it’s my only chance to actually have it ready and make it through the day energized and in a good mood. This girl gets really cranky if hungry or on anything sugary.

For this whole grain breakfast I chose Kamut. I use all sorts of whole grains including some old  ones that are not really grown that much these days. A good health store should have a little selection. Grains have to be soaked over night. I don’t count pouring water over a cup of grains and leaving it as preparation. They have to soak because they contain acid that makes them harder to digest. After a night of soaking that acid will be in the water and you can drain your grains.

Cook 1 cup of whole grain of your choice like kamut (gluten-free), spelt (contains gluten), wheat (contains gluten)…, in 2 cups of water with a pinch of salt. Bring to a boil then let it simmer for 10 to 15 minutes. Try if the middle of the grain is soft, the bran stays a little tougher which is the way it should be. You can easily do this the night before, no need to stay beside it and watch it cook either.

The bran helps your body to deal with the starchy (sugary) center of the grain.It was designed that way;) & leaving that part of the grain out creates confusion & and high sugar levels in your body!

I added blueberries to the cooking grains five minutes before draining them. You can add them raw or use any other fruit.

To the cooked grains I added:

1/2 teaspoon of coconut oil

3 teaspoons of goat milk yogurt (optional)

1 teaspoon of maple syrup (optional)

You get the picture it’s all about the whole grain and you add to it whatever you fancy:) minus the any crazy sugary stuff or a full fry up!

Image

I know some people read the news at this point, I’ll keep that for later…now go and have a great weekend!

Eat well

Leave a Reply

