waffels…

DSC_0297

…were the first thing I made in my new home. I moved in on a first of january and had my first guests over on the second for a brunch. The smell of fresh paint and materials had to be chased by the welcoming smell of fresh waffles. The dough I made at the time was heavy with butter and generally quiet filling. I haven’t made any since…I lived here for a few years now.

Waffles, but a lighter healthier version have been occupying my mind for a week now and I am happy with the result of this quiet sunday morning.

DSC_0259

DSC_0261

DSC_0265

DSC_0269

2 cups of yoghurt (I used goat milk)

200ml coconut milk

140 g whole grain spelt flour

60g rye flour

1 tbsp coconut sugar

1 tbsp baking powder

1/2 tsp of sea salt

3 free range eggs

1/4 cup coconut oil (melted & cooled off)

1 vanilla bean

Mix all the ingredients together starting with the coconut oil and eggs and adding the flour last.

Let the batter sit for 15 minutes to give the baking powder and the gluten in the flour a chance to do their job of binding things together.

In that time take some fresh or frozen red fruits, add some water and coconut sugar and bring to a boil. The let it simmer until the liquid reduced and you have a fruity sauce to go with your waffles.

DSC_0278Now you can start heating the waffle maker and get started. I made this batter up and although the texture looked alright I wasn’t 100% sure it would work. The second the batter touched the iron, the smell was exactly what I was hoping for;)

DSC_0276

Serve them hot or cold, with or without fruit, ice cream, maple syrup ect….

This recipe made 8 waffles, as you see quiet big ones and I put some of them in the freezer. These are delicious in the morning, you just have to put them in your toaster .

DSC_0281

If you add a vegetable soup to this it can even pass as lunch. In the part of Germany that borders Luxemburg this is a traditional meal.

Eat well

3 thoughts on “waffels…

Leave a Reply

