purple pancakes

…not my intention at all 😉

DSC_0273I added the blueberries into the batter in the kitchen robot. If I had delicately added them the color of the dough would have met my expectations but would have been less fun & I would have missed the little lesson concerning expectations and perfectionism. Both didn’t stand a chance here. I DO like this color;)

DSC_0269

It’s my first try for pancakes instead of the belgian…or french crêpes that I grew up with & at the same time my attempt for a healthy version. (Since I apparently am somewhat “belge” I am biased. It’s a big secretive family story around belgian lords, help and illegitimate children…we might never find out;))

So here are the ingredients and as you already know I did pour & mix them all together in a bowl. I was a little cautious with the melted coconut oil though, pouring it in while the rest was being mixed and making sure I poured it onto the sides of the bowl and not directly into the dough. Always better if what you’re pouring in is not 100% cooled off, so you’re sure you’re not cooking the eggs in the batter.

  • 2 tsp melted coconut oil
  • 1 cup blueberries
  • 1/2 tsp vanilla (optional)
  • 1 tsp baking powder
  • 1/2 cup milk (nut, soya….)
  • 2 free range eggs
  • 150g wholegrain spelt flour
  • 1 & 1/2 tbsp chia seeds (optional)
  • 1/2 tbsp coconut sugar

DSC_0263

DSC_0264

I used the pan that I melted the coconut oil in to fry the pancakes. Less stuff to clean & less oil because the little remaining in the pan was largely enough to fry all of the pancakes. Use a medium to high heat and flip the purple pancakes over once you see the sides “drying”. The second side needs very little time.

DSC_0276

These will stay in the fridge and serve as breakfast for the next couple of days. Just like that or reheated in a frying pan not using any new oil, just a low heat for both sides.

Eat well & add some color to your plate;)

2 thoughts on “purple pancakes

Leave a Reply

