Perrine’s kitchens & not unlike couscous

I love cooking at a friend’s house when I travel. Shopping for the ingredients is a little adventure in itself and you never quiet get everything that you want. Imposed improvisation brings out a new dish, sometimes ok, sometimes really nice. I obviously hope for nice since I am cooking for a dear friend who welcomed me into their home & kitchen.

945138_10151463711171947_635974930_n

I am just back from London, a city that positively kicks my creativity and seems to absorb all my energy at the same time. It’s a weird mix ūüėČ That might be a good thing. I admire all those that manage to find balance between being stuck in traffic, confined in public transport, facing a demanding job and/or family life and possibly trying to make healthy life choices. I come home content that I live in the country, 20 minutes away from town (Luxemburg town would feel like the countryside to a Londoner), in a non-hectic environment until I start finding it so boring again that I will complain to anybody who is willing to listen & have to get away for a while. It’s a kind of balance that seems to work fine for me;)

At Perrine’s place (she shot the pictures of me in her kitchen) I cooked a couscous with quinoa & veggies. I made up the recipe as I went along and the outcome was tasty. Recipe for 2.

DSC_0228

2 cups of quinoa (rinsed)

1/2 a handful of raisins

1l vegetable broth

1 tablespoon of tomato past

1/2 teaspoon cumin (seeds or grounded)

1/2 teaspoon coriander (grounded)

pepper & salt

olive oil

DSC_0254

2 carrots

1 fennel

1 courgette

1 potato

1/2 brocoli

4 small onions

1 piece of ginger that you cook with the broth & take out before you serve

I used the vegetables that were available to me, feel free to go for anything you like. Wash and cut the veggies, chuncky peaces are best here. The only trick is to add them to the boiling broth in the right order. Those that need the longest cooking time first (carrots, potatoes act…) continuing with those that need less time to cook, like fennel. I added the onions very early since I want them to get sweet and totally loose the strong onion taste. Trust your feeling;)

Heat the broth with the tomato past, coriander and cumin. Add your vegetables as described above and season to taste.

Simultaneously cook the quinoa with the raisins (if you don’t like these you obviously don’t use them. I like to satisfy as many qualities of taste in one dish. Salty, sweet, bitter, sour. That way I feel balanced and free of cravings. I don’t include Umami since I have little to no experience with it.)

Try if your vegetables are done by sticking a knife through them. In this dish I ¬†like them quiet cooked but again it’s up to you if you want them more crunchy.

DSC_0264

Serve the quinoa with veggies on top and some broth. I also added a little olive oil, to give the fat soluble vitamins a chance to be absorbed. You can add ¬†Harissa (Tunisian hot chill sauce) which really completes the dish, parsley, fresh mint…

Eat well

Leave a Reply

