Lentil breadspread

I tried a lot of blended foods. Making my own nut butter,  bean butter and so forth. I killed a couple of food processor and never really liked the outcome. Honestly it’s too much fuss for me and often there is a good quality product I can buy, like for nut butter that is finally not more expensive than my homemade version (not counting the dead processor;)). I like my recipes healthy, easy & not overly time-consuming. As a vegetarian I do need to keep an eye on my protein intake. This makes pulses really important especially in combination with a whole grain food where they really become a great source for protein. So this lentil breadspread is one of the very few blended recipes I kept from all my previous experiments.

DSC_0269

1 cup of yellow lentils

olive oil or coconut oil

1 teaspoon of turmeric

1 red onion

1 teaspoon agave syrup

pepper & salt

1/2 handful of raisins

spices of your choice (chilli, rosemary…all optional)

Start with washing the yellow or red lentils. They cook extremely fast, which ticks one of my boxes. 

Cut the onion and heat it with a little olive oil or neutral coconut oil. Add the agave syrup and slightly caramelize the onions. Add the lentils, 2 cups of water, turmeric (anti-inflamatory), salt & pepper and spices of your choice. Bring to a boil, then lower the heat for five minutes cover with a lid and turn the heat off. 10 minutes later your lentils are done. You should not have a lot of excess water in them since you want to turn this into a spread.

DSC_0271

Use a blender or a food processor to mix. Season to taste. Since the onions are caramelized & there will be raisins, I like to make it a little spicy to go with the light sweetness. Serve with really nice homemade whole grain bread or as a dip.

DSC_0280

Eat well

2 thoughts on “Lentil breadspread

  1. Hey food blogging girl 🙂 Somehow I get the feeling this entry was especially for me. 😎 Thanks. Just back from Marseille, now together with my son, I bought two fresh dorades royal. We were inspired by a delicious meal we had there in the old part of town. They had been baked in the oven with provençale veggies. So good. As I was pondering on how to prepare a similar meal at home, never having made this myself, I had the reflex of wanting to ask you. Which brought me to the idea of you maybe wanting to offer this option on your blog page, i.e. people being able to request your version of preparing something that you would then blog on -if you fancy. Maybe no new idea to you at all, but thought I’d share it anyway. 🙂 This said, if you do happen to have any helpful hints at hand for the fish dish, they’ll be much appreciated. 😋 Wishing you an enjoyable weekend, and lots of success with your yogi catering job. Hugs Sitta

    Sent from my iPhone

    • Welcome back girl;)
      I have thought about encouraging people to ask for recipes or give the one they use a “healthy makeover”! Will give it some thought…that would mean going shopping according to the ingredients they want to use, like your dorade. For your fish & a clean oven I would bake it in aluminum wrap with olive oil, lemon, pepper, salt, thyme, rosemary (whatever you have and fancy) & the diced vegetables you want to use. Season again for the veggies. Just wrap everything in the aluminum wrap (a little olive oil under the fish so you’re sure it doesn’t stick), closing it really well so you oven actually does stay clean. Do place the “papillotes” on an oven tray or into a baking dish just in case. You might have to check from time to time depending on the size of the fish I can not tell you how long it will take to be done. Try 20 to 30 minutes at 200°C! Have a lovely sunny day and let me know when you’re free for coffee. Also let me know about the fish;)) Huge hug!

Leave a Reply

