Wholesome cinnamon-bun-cake

DSC_0427

A good indication if the food you’re having is actually really nourishing you is that you don’t want to overindulge in it. It gives your body what it needs and you’re sure to have enough surprisingly quickly. It energizes you and doesn’t leave you with a craving…job done move on;) I posted my childhood cinnamon-bun-cake as one of my first posts ever quiet at the beginning of my quest for a truly balanced diet. This one is a wholesome alternative. It is packed with good & healthy ingredients. Not to be confused with low-calorie. This is packed with calories too (I have no clue how many;)) but the GOOD kind. Calorie does NOT equal calorie. It does make a big difference to your body where that lovely little energy pack comes from. In this case white sugar and flour versus dates, applesauce, coconut sugar, whole grain flour and nuts.

DSC_0408

This recipe was posted a couple of days ago on “my new roots” and I just had to give it a try & share!

It’s much richer then my cinnamon-bun-cake but considering the ingredients that’s a good thing.

To my surprise it even ticks my very personal nostalgia box which is the main reason to make cinnamon buns…for me at least.

So I do allow myself to be a copycat and take Sarah Britton’s recipe here. I altered it very little because I couldn’t get the right kind of nuts. I guess that sticking to the original 100% would make it even better. I also left aside the glazing and the topping. Both I am generally not a fan off, always somehow too much for me, although her healthy options for these too look amazing.

What totally intrigued me reading her post was the use of apple sauce for texture & sweetening. It works really nicely and the sweetness of the unsweetened applesauce is surprisingly strong. It makes you wonder why they came up with refined sugar in the first place…if nature delivers THIS.

DSC_0392

Applesauce is “compote de pommes”, I had to google that since I am not a native english speaker ;). I made it myself, out of organic apples, since I like to go the whole way, but I’m sure there are nice unsweetened versions to buy.

For the apple sauce:

Wash, skin and dice 4 medium-sized apples. Cook them with 1/4 cup of water on a medium heat until soft. Blend & leave to cool.

For the filing:

225 g of chopped dates (the fresher the better)

175 ml water

2 tsp. ground cinnamon

pinch of ground cardamom (I used 2 whole pods that I took out again after the cooking was done)

1/4 tsp. sea salt

75 g chopped pecans (I used hazelnut)

Cook the dates with the water on a medium heat with the spices & salt, stir frequently until they dissolve into a paste. I used a mix of fresher and dryer dates which implied cooking this a little longer and using more water to soften the dryer dates as well. Let this cool off too.

DSC_0390

DSC_0386

For the dough:

300 g whole spelt flour

1 tsp. dry active yeast

2 Tbsp. coconut sugar

1 tsp. sea salt

3/4 cup & 1 Tbsp apple unsweetened sauce (I used all I got from 4 medium-sized apples)

3 Tbsp. softened coconut oil (neutral in taste) or butter

Mix the dry ingredients first then add the applesauce.

Roll out the dough on a floured surface and spread with the date paste. Add as many of the nuts as seem right to you and roll the buns.

DSC_0406

You have so many possibilities here. I put the buns into a cake shape. You could make a flatter version or individual buns,… .

DSC_0404

Bake for 30 minutes at 190°. This stays much more compact as a traditional yeast pastry,  so don’t be alarmed it you don’t see the dough rising in the oven.

DSC_0423

DSC_0417

I will take some over to the family later today for the ultimate test;)

Eat well

7 thoughts on “Wholesome cinnamon-bun-cake

  1. Reblogueó esto en NURIA ROURAy comentado:
    Mi amiga Carole hace unas recetas SEN increibles, como este maravilloso pancanke de canela. Os recomiendo su blog para encontrar recetas SEN dulces y saladas.

  2. I simply couldn’t leave your site prior to suggesting that I actually enjoyed the standard information a person supply for your visitors?
    Is going to be again often to inspect new posts

  3. That is very fascinating, You’re an overly skilled blogger.
    I’ve joined your feed and look ahead to in quest of extra of your fantastic post.

    Also, I’ve shared your web site in my social networks

Leave a Reply

