blueberry tartlets

 

noname-1

I spend a lazy day having coffee and window shopping.  I was surprised and pleased to discover that Jeff Bridges is modelling for my favorite clothing brand of the moment. Ageing well does pays off!

Besides that, I found lovely blueberries on the local market & the tartlets I made with them do taste as dark as they look, not really sweet and nearly medicinal.

Among other medicinal benefits, blueberries ARE the best source of antioxidants, they slow down and prevent cell deterioration. Just for those of us who plan to age well 😉

When I make pastry like this I hear my “pâtisserie chef” (another rustic oldie) in my head “tu me fais quelque chose de propre”, meaning “you make me something clean”. According to him you are not allowed to see as much as a fingerprint on the moulded dough and you should be able to mould it without even looking at it so you can multitask as any good chef can. Let’s hope he doesn’t see these;)

My excuse, I do like a rustic look on homemade food.

DSC_0386

For the dough:

125 g whole grain spelt flour

pinch of salt

40 g coconut oil (soft or melted)

1,5 tbsp coconut sugar

1 egg

1 tbsp dry yeast

Mix ingredients together and leave to rest for 1/2 hour.

Roll out the dough and mould it into your baking pan. Fill the dough base with blueberries and bake at 180°.

DSC_0390

The dough should be well-baked, especially the downside. The blueberries will be “melting” & bubbling away.

Serve plain or with vanilla ice cream…. 

Eat & age well

2 thoughts on “blueberry tartlets

  1. Pingback: Spelt is your friend and blueberry pie // Unser Freund Dinkel und Heidelbeer-Törtchen | Fructopia

Leave a Reply

