newly sharpened pencils & prune tart

Autumn is kicking in…big time. I did spend the end of the summer in Canada where the  temperatures were already half of what they were in little Luxemburg.

DSC_0259

Traveling seems to be even better when you look back. The same day a couple of weeks ago my face was “burned” by the salty seawater that had been hitting me for three hours straight (I had been warned by the bus driver in charming Canadian french “Aujourd’hui tu vas te faire laver la figure pendant trois heures ;)” while trying to catch a glimpse of a whale…I cought many glimpses & a red face & a little sea sickness;)

Back home it looks, feels and smells like autumn & every year I think about this “you’ve got mail” movie quote:

“Don’t you love New York in the fall? It makes me wanna buy school supplies. I would send you a bouquet of newly sharpened pencils if I knew your name and address.”

DSC_0253

Instead of newly sharpened pencils, but filled with the same cosy autumn spirit I send you a newly improvised prune tart. I took the recipe of my “chef pâtissier” from Paris and freely changed it into a coconut oil & coconut sugar version;)

DSC_0246

180g whole grain spelt flour

20g cornstarch

30 g coconut oil (or 100g soft butter)

30 g coconut sugar (or 100g icing sugar)

a tsp liquid vanilla

1 free range egg

prunes

DSC_0252

Mix the ingredients together and roll the dough out on a piece of baking paper. I didn’t even use a rolling-pin for this one, I just flattened the dough by hand (when I say improvised….;)) and placed the washed & pitted prunes on top. Bake at 180° until brown & crisp.

DSC_0256

Eat well

One thought on “newly sharpened pencils & prune tart

  1. Hi! Someone in my Facebook group shared this site with
    us so I came to take a look. I’m definitely enjoying the information. I’m bookmarking and will be tweeting this to my followers!
    Superb blog and brilliant design.

Leave a Reply

