cookie monsters wholesome delight

I am not a cookie person…except when I feel that I lose balance & the time to eat well. I guess this should be the other way around & happened over the last couple of weeks.

I was tempted into buying a pack of cookies with chocolate in the middle, on the go, from the health shop. FROM THE HEALTH SHOP for my conscience since clearly they do contain refined sugar which makes them nothing else but addictive.

DSC_0262

In an attempt to avoid being fooled again, I created my wholesome version of the evil cookies.  Whole grain flour & coconut sugar lessens the addictive nature of these & makes them a much healthier treat.

DSC_0241

They are heart-shaped because my cookie cutter collection gave me the choice between a pig, a moon, a witch, a moose…& many others that would reveal difficult to fill with chocolate in a presentable manner.

DSC_0242

For the dough:

250 g whole grain spelt flour

150 g butter

80 g coconut sugar

20 g almond powder

1 tsp vanilla

1 egg yolk (free range)

a pinch of salt

Mix all the dry ingredients together. Then add the butter piece by piece. This will make a crumbly mixture. To that add the egg yolk and knead the dough until it sticks together nicely.

DSC_0245

Leave the dough to rest in the fridge for one hour. (A step that I often skip;))  A “sablé” dough like this one is easiest rolled out between two sheets of cling film.

DSC_0253

Use the cookie cutter of your choice and bake these in the oven for 12 minutes at 180°C. Keep an eye on them and if your oven works like mine, you want to turn the tray around halfway through the baking process. Those at the back bake quicker.

DSC_0249

Let the cookies cool off before you fill & assemble them. If that is where you want to stop, these “sablé” cookie are delicious even without any filling.

For the filling:

100 g dark chocolate (I used 75%)

2 tbsp coconut cream (or regular)

2 tbsp almond powder

Slowly melt the chocolate. Take it off the heat before you add the cream and almond powder. I added the cream so the chocolate wouldn’t go solid again after cooling off. They won’t keep for long & have to be kept in the fridge. If you want to keep these for longer you should leave the cream.

DSC_0256

Set the cookies aside for a couple of hours…

Enjoy

10 thoughts on “cookie monsters wholesome delight

  1. Greetings, I think your website could possibly be having web browser compatiility issues.
    When I take a look at your website in Safari, it looks
    fine however, if opening inn Internet Explorer, it’s got some overlapping issues.
    I just wanted to give you a quicxk heads up!

    Other than that, excellent site!

  2. Hello I aam soo glad I found your blog, I really found
    you by error, whyile I wwas looking on Bing for something else, Regardless
    I am here now andd would just like to say thanks for a incredible
    polst and a all round thrilling blog (I also love thee theme/design), I don’t have time to look over it all at the moment but I have book-marked
    it and also added your RSS feeds, sso when I have time I
    will be back to rad much more, Please ddo keep up the fantastic job.

Leave a Reply

