50% of sugar & not the raw carrot cake…

…that I planned on making after having lunch at the new vegan place (the only one I think) in Luxemburg town.

DSC_0243

The plan was to make a raw carrot cake later in the day and tell you all about the process. BUT I find that raw “baking” as much as I admire the originality and produce used, doesn’t agree with me. Too many nuts or coconut oil for me it seems, used to keep the creation together. Reading the recipe that I had for the planned cake confirmed that thought.

In search for a middle path I settled for a more traditional version and found a recipe from Nigella Lawson. I had to adapt it to the circumstances of my kitchen cupboards & to my aversion for refined flour.

DSC_0241

More noteworthy, I actually used sugar which I haven’t done in ages. Only 50% of the amount indicated. I always reduce the amount indicated in a recipe by half, even if I substitute the regular sugar with the coconut version. 50% of the sweetness is largely enough in most cases & allows you to actually taste the other ingredients as well. In this case the recipe asked for light muscovado but I used dark muscovado since that’s what I had.

This makes about 8 cupcake sized cakes

50g muscovado sugar

175 ml sunflower oil

2 free range eggs

225g whole spelt flour

3/4 teaspoon bicarbonate of soda

1 teaspoon of cinnamon

pinch of salt

zest of 1 lemon

150g grated carrots (about 2 carrots)

100 g almond flour

Whisk all the ingredients together starting with oil & sugar. Fill the dough into your cupcake baking forms or use a big baking dish. Bake at 180° until they smell and look just right and there remains no dough on your cake tester.

DSC_0240

Eat well

2 thoughts on “50% of sugar & not the raw carrot cake…

Leave a Reply

