Quick lucuma & a peaceful gift

I have been in a merry wintertime mood this week, arranging festive decoration, getting a tree (a red robin), decorating it with twinkle lights, going to my nieces Xmas school market and having lunch at the Xmas market in town which is topping last years edition in beauty.

This time of the year I tend to be more restless, travel and generally not making it the peaceful time my body and mind needs. THIS time I am doing just that! I realized that living according to the season is important to my personal balance.

DSC_0241

& it’s gift giving season. My family organises a kind of tombola to determine who gives a gift to whom, one person only. We try to keep the spending mood at bay;) I got the one person I really don’t know what to get for of course…

Do you know the kind of gifts that make you wonder if the well intended friend (or family member) offering, has ever talked to you, noticed what you wear or been around your house…?!

And then there are the gifts that come as a surprise and are just right! This is one of those, a culinary discovery wrapped in the most lovely, peaceful manner, I was presented with tis week.

LUCUMA!

DSC_0245

After googling and looking it up I realized that I had heard of this “super food” before without my brain retaining the information.

At its origin is a “golden” fruit from Peru. We are most likely to get it in its dried and powdered form and it’s used for sweetening since it has less impact on your body in terms of insulin production, sugar high & lows.

It contains fiber, antioxidants, beta-carotene, carbohydrates, zinc, iron & calcium.

In my little research I came across recipes for ice cream & smoothies.

I am going for the smoothie since it allows me get a taste of this new ingredient quick & easy. The plan is definitely to find out and test multiple recipes for my new sugar replacement.

DSC_0244

  •  1 cup of yoghurt or nut milk
  • 2 frozen bananas
  • 1 tbsp of LUCUMA
  • 1 tsp of vanilla (optional but an absolute must for me)

DSC_0248

Blend these together & that’s it. I can’t decide if I made a smoothie, a milk shake or an ice cream…but I can tell you it’s delicious!

Eat well & enjoy the season

Leave a Reply

