Oat & raisins…Spelt & raisins

Oat & raisin cookie…a classic as it seems in England. Here, less known but welcomed with open arms. oat & raisin cookie Yesterday I sat in my favorite cafe to work. I have a paper to write and will never finish it if I attempt to do it at home.

I am the queen of procrastination and would find many occupations that would keep me from getting the job done. So here I was, being incredibly productive with an espresso some water and…feeling a little hungry.

My only choice would have been cake or the oat & raisin cookie. I fancied the cookie but aware that both would be to loaded with refined sugar I didn’t succumb to the temptation.

Instead, later at home, I made up my own oat & raisin cookie recipe which turns out to be spelt & raisin. Spelt has less gluten and is my favorite baking grain.

This made about a dozen of small wholesome sweet cookies.

DSC_0264

1 cup whole grain spelt flour

3/4 cup spelt flakes

1/4 tsp baking soda

1/4 tsp salt

1/4 tsp cinnamon

1/2 cup coconut sugar

1/4 cup nuts (crushed)

1 tsp ground vanilla

1/2 cup raisins

1 free range egg

2 tbsp coconut oil (melted)

Start by mixing the dry ingredients. If you put in the liquids immediately, the spices will end up all clogged together and it will be a tough job to get them to spread evenly into the mixture.

Add the egg and the cooled off melted coconut oil. I added the oil gradually so I could see if I need less or more judging by the consistency of the dough. It should hold together if you form it into a ball.

oat & raisin cookie

Form little spelt & raisins balls and place them on a baking tray. Flatten them a little with a spoon and bake for about 10 minutes at 220°C. Stay close and check on the cookies regularly.

…my paper is still not finished, but this post had to be written;) ohhh

Eat well

Leave a Reply

