this & that / waffles &…

DSC_0268

Let me apolagize for being so absent from gigi’s spcae these days! You know the excuse that is to fallow, too much to do, not enough time or time  used unwisely which I am most certainly guilty off. In addition to all of that stuff that I will not bore you with (I might do later though;)) I have not really been creative in the kitchen. When there is little time it tends to be a plate of this and that, always with a thought for health and clever combinations but never an actual foto & post worthy plate.

The one thing I have been making & combining quiet a bit is waffles. Even with little time & lots of positive stress the therapeutic effect of baking always works for me.

DSC_0265

For the dough (makes about 6 waffles)…whisk together:

150g crème fraiche

50g coconut sugar

a pinch of salt

2 free range eggs

125g whole grain spelt flour

1 tsp baking powder

& sometimes a handful of spelt oats to give these waffles a more wholesome texture.

I pour 1,5 tbsp of dough per waffle into the waffle maker.

Here are a couple of examples of this & that dishes that I had lately…this reminds me of a restaurant in Paris where you can have soufflé as a starter, main an dessert. That’s not what I did with the waffles although I happily could:) Waffles were made and frozen, popped into the toaster to defreeze & reheat on different days!

waffle & avocado with salmon

DSC_0262

waffle & poached egg

DSC_0263

On poaching eggs, it is so simple and still people ahhh and ohhh when you serve one…Bring the water to a boil then REMOVE FROM THE HEAT, crack the egg and bring it as close as possible to the water before you let the content drop in, not too slowly. Reduce to medium heat and but the water & egg back on. No bubbly water…a nice and even poached free range egg.

DSC_0267

waffle & coffee;)

DSC_0271

Eat well

Leave a Reply

