carrot madelaines

carrot cake madelaine

These carrot madelaines are a byproduct of my quiche dough production for the 100 mini quiches I am preparing for the  first hub.dot Luxemburg gathering. When I say byproduct….different ingredients go into the carrot cake dough, but once the kitchen aid is running why try to stop it;)

This gives away my next post, which has to be 100 mini quiches.

I also completed writing the the menu for the south of France yogaretreat that I will be catering for during summer and am planning to try, taste and post every single one of the recipes.

Actually these carrot madelaines are part of that menu, featuring as an afternoon snack.

You see I have been absent but not lazy! I am happy to post these and I hope you like them as much as I do. The carrot cake mix is based on a “Rose Bakery” recipe which I changed in regards to minimising sugar consumption, as I always do!

I don’t want to turn sugar into THE devil when it comes to nutrition but there is no denying it is respondsable for some of our conditions that could be avoided.

I am fascinated by the mental health side to sugar consumption. If I understood the science bit correctly, sugar helps other elements to get into the blood, giving them a ride, like one element that is necessary to build serotonin (a happy hormone). If we eat more sugar then can be processed by the body these beneficial elements still attach to that excess sugar that will never reach it’s destination and so can’t get into the blood (less happy stuff production).

& we don’t tend to eat to much of the sugar coming from a whole grain but the processed instant kick and overload kind.

In my logic that results in eating less sugar and letting it do the job properly.

Now, time to bake;)

carrot cake madelaines

Ingredients for carrot madelaines

2 free range organic eggs

60g coconut sugar

50 g almond powder

150ml sunflower oil

3 medium finely grated carrots

150g flour (whole grain always a good choice)

1/2 tsp baking powder

1/2 tsp ground cinnamon

1/4 tsp bicarbonate of soda

1/4 tsp salt

70 g chopped walnuts

Mix all the ingredients together and pour into the baking tin or madelaine shaped forms.

Carrot cake madelaines

Bake at 180°C until done. Don’t leave the kitchen and use your nose, eyes an cake tester to see if your cake is done. The madelaines will be done fairly quickly, a whole cake will take longer.

Eat well

One thought on “carrot madelaines

Leave a Reply

