preparing for winter…with jam

I am not chopping wood or knitting jumpers. Just back from London I stick to my promise of making apricot and strawberry jam for my nieces’ and nephew’s pancakes as well as for the yoga retreat that I will be catering for later in summer.

making jam London Derren Brown

I am in London quiet often, this time I went to see Derren Brown. If I could just beam me back and forth between Luxemburg an London…the perfect mix of inspiring big city creativity and the comfort of the familiar as well as the serenity of country side living. Derren’s amazingly clever show is of course a secret and I will stick to that promise just as I do to the jam one;) There is not much to say about making jam, so after a short description I will shut up and spam you with a few pictures…

making jam London Derren Brown

For 1 kg of washed and pitted fruit you need 1/2 kg sugar (the special jam kind)

The test to see if it will turn into jam is to pour some on a plate and see if it “gels”, if not keep cooking.

The glasses should be as clean as possible, I submerged each one in cooking water although the were already dish washer clean.

Fill to the brim, put the lid on and turn upside down for a couple of minutes.

making jam London Derren Brown

Eat well

Leave a Reply

