Detox & why

<a href=”http://www.bloglovin.com/blog/14697193/?claim=zqfvmq3m45e”>Follow my blog with Bloglovin</a>

I admire people who are so taken by an idea that they know there way to be right. I tend to be more undecided and I basically overthink everything. The same with detox, did one once in my life so far to quit sugar and the effect was amazing. But I do think that if you have a balanced diet even with the occasional excess, maybe you don’t need a detox.

Over the last months though I have been unwell on and off and the amount of antibiotics I had to take is in my mind just unreal and my body seems to feel the same. So now it’s time to help my liver & to prevent the infections that my body had to deal with from happening yet again.

I’m not opting for a cold turkey juice fast though, even if it might be good for me I am more drawn toward the mellow and not extreme methods.

First I want to introduce my hot chocolate! Yes chocolate:) It is sugar free, raw (maybe, I’m not sure because the milk is hot) & vegan (sure).

This healthy treat starts out with nutmilk. By now there are so many video’s that will explain how to make some and I would recommend you Sarah Britton from “my new roots”.

soaked almonds nutmilk

soaked almonds for nutmilk

You have to soak the nuts of your choice over night. If you use softer nuts like cashew a couple of hours will do. You discard the soaking water and rince the nuts. Put nuts into a powerful blender and cover with water. You can determine if you want milk or creme by using more or less water. I added a couple of dates for sweetness and ground vanilla for luxury:) Blend the mix well and strain the liquid through a cheese cloth or an actual nutmilk bag if you have one.

nutmilk in cheesecloth

nutmilk in cheesecloth

The milk heats like regular milk so keep an eye on the stove. You can of course buy nutmilk at a health store, I do enjoy making it from scratch.

nutmilk

nutmilk

I add 1 tsp of turmeric and 1 1/2 tsp of raw cacao powder. If you want more sweetness you can add some maple syrup.

curcuma & raw cacao powder

turmeric & raw cacao powder

Chocolate has detoxifying qualities. Obviously not once sugar and dairy are added,but in it’s raw state it’s really good for us.

Turmeric has anti-inflammatory & antibacterial properties. With my little hot chocolate I get a tsp a day and if that can help me to avoid the next antibiotic, I’m in.

good for you hot chocolate

good for you hot chocolate

Eat well!

Leave a Reply

